Gottlieb Shapiro


Gaon Books






The Privilege of Aging


Portraits of Twelve Jewish Women

Patricia Gottlieb Shapiro

“The Privilege of Aging: Portraits of Twelve Jewish Women,” offers an indepth exploration of women’s lives beyond age 75. You’ll meet twelve women from all over the country, women with different lifestyles, experiences, economic backgrounds, and connections to Judaism. You’ll read about the courage of a Holocaust survivor, the strength of a teacher to stand up for women’s rights, the determination of an artist to nurture a long-term relationship. Their lifelong journeys reveal how their earlier years prepared them for life as older women and what they learned from those experiences.

Click Here to Buy from Amazon

Click Here for Radio Interviews, Newspaper reviews and YouTube

Click Here to Read the Introduction


Patricia Gottlieb Shapiro is an award-winning author who has written or co-authored eight other nonfiction books. She specializes in writing and speaking on the issues of women at mid-life and older.

She has written about how women constantly reinvent themselves after their children leave home, through their friendships, by coming home to their true selves, and in other important ways.

Ms. Shapiro has a master’s degree in social work and borrows from that training to understand the human condition, particularly women’s development.

She is a widely sought lecturer, writing coach and yoga teacher. She is available for talks about women at mid-life and beyond, and can be reached through her website at


ISBN 9781935604525. Paper. 128 pages. $16.00
ISBN 9781935604532. eBook. Available on Amazon.


For information on group orders from Gaon Books
Call 505.920.7771
or e-mail

Distributed to the book industry by Ingram and others

Gaon Books

Excellence in Publishing





Home •Sephardic Traditions •Women's Voices •Jewish Thought & Practice
New TitlesAward WinnersMeet Gaon Authors •About Gaon BooksContact Us



See also

Patricia Gottlieb Shapiro's

highly acclaimed book on women and life changes:

Coming Home to Yourself:
Eighteen Women Reflect on their Journeys


Best Book Finalist 2011
New Mexico/Arizona
Book Awards